Your Redistricting Commissioners

Commissioners are appointed once every 10 years to redraw Washington's legislative & congressional district boundaries.

Four commissioners are appointed by the Legislature, and the Commissioners appoint a fifth, non-voting, non-partisan chairperson. Meet your 2021 Commissioners by watching the video below and reading their bios.

Sarah Augustine

Chair (Resigned)

Sarah Augustine is the Executive Director of the Dispute Resolution Center of Yakima and Kittitas Counties. A social scientist, she has taught at Heritage University, Central Washington University, and Goshen College.

Full Bio

April Sims

House Democratic Caucus Appointee

April Sims serves as Secretary Treasurer of the Washington State Labor Council (WSLC) AFL-CIO. She is the first woman of color and the first Black person to be elected as a WSLC executive officer and is the second highest ranking labor leader in the state. She previously served as the WSLC’s Political and Strategic Campaign Director and as Field Mobilization Director.

Full Bio

Paul Graves

House Republican Caucus Appointee

Former state representative Paul Graves was born and raised in Maple Valley. One of five children, he attended Tahoma public schools and graduated from Western Washington University—where he served as the student body president—and earned his law degree from Duke University. After law school he served for a year as a law clerk to Washington Supreme Court Justice James Johnson. He then worked at Perkins Coie LLP, the state's leading law firm.

Full Bio

Brady Piñero Walkinshaw

Senate Democratic Caucus Appointee

Brady Piñero Walkinshaw is the CEO of Grist, a leading national environmental media organization. Brady served two terms in the Washington State Legislature representing Washington’s 43rd Legislative District in central Seattle. Brady was raised in rural Whatcom County, in today’s 42nd Legislative District, educated in Nooksack Valley public schools.

Full Bio

Joe Fain

Senate Republican Caucus Appointee

Joe Fain is the President and CEO of the Bellevue Chamber. He previously served two terms in the Washington State Senate where he worked extensively on economic development, transportation, and education issues. He was a leading negotiator of Washington’s 2015 statewide transportation package. He also led the negotiations and prime-sponsored Washington’s Paid Family Leave legislation, which passed in 2017.

Full Bio

Learn more our Commissioner Mission & Core Principles, Commissioner Code of Conduct on our policy page.

Commission Policies

Join the Commission Mailing List